The President’s National Capital Region Leadership Council

The President’s National Capital Region Leadership Council is an executive advisory group to Virginia Tech President Timothy Sands. The Leadership Council is comprised of C-level executives from major companies as well as venture capitalists and entrepreneurs based in the National Capital Region (NCR). The group was originally called the Virginia Tech Science and Engineering Regional Growth Enterprise (VT-SERGE), but has been renamed to reflect an expanded scope and mission.

The mission of the Leadership Council is to enhance the global competitive position of Virginia Tech and the business sector in the National Capital Region through collaboration and partnerships that advance education, innovation, and research. In its early years, the group advised then President Charles Steger on the expansion of the university’s presence in the NCR. More recent examples of the Council’s involvement include providing feedback and perspectives on the development and design of Destination Areas). The group gave advice and support to a successful new degree program in Computational Modeling and Data Analytics. The Council’s members are active in supporting research, entrepreneurial activities, and philanthropic endeavors at the university and continually seek out opportunities for the advancement of Virginia Tech.

The Chair of the Leadership Council is Doug Wagoner, Sector President of Science Applications International Corporation (SAIC). Mark Weber, Executive-in-Residence at the Catholic University of America and President of Weber Strategies, LLC, serves as Co-Chair. From the university side, the Council is overseen by President Sands, with leadership also provided by Guru Ghosh, Vice President of Outreach and International Affairs, Steven McKnight, Vice President of the National Capital Region, Theresa Mayer, Vice President of Research and Innovation, and Afroze Mohammed, Associate Director of Strategic Alliances.

The Leadership Council meets quarterly, with three meetings in Arlington, VA and one in Blacksburg. The group includes both alumni and non-alumni of Virginia Tech. Membership is by invitation of the university. A list of all current industry members is provided below.

For additional information, please contact Afroze Mohammed, Associate Director of Strategic Alliances in the Virginia Tech Office of Economic Development at 571-858-3007 or


Simone Acha, Owner, Simone Acha Consulting
Brad Antle, President & CEO, Salient Federal Solutions, Inc.
Bahman Atefi, Chairman & CEO, Alion Science & Technology
Steven Chen, Founder, PFP Cybersecurity
Packard Fancher, Director, Pagnato-Karp Group HighTower
Sandy Forney, Director of Engineering Performance & Tools, Northrop Grumman
Mark Frantz, Co-Founder, Blue Delta Capital Partners
Dewey R. Houck, II, VP-Phantom Works Chief Data Analytics Officer, Boeing Defense, Space & Security
Daniel Johnson, President, General Dynamics Information Technology, Inc.
William Braun Jones III, Partner, Outcome Capital
Bobbie Kilberg, President & CEO, Northern Virginia Technology Council
Tom Kirchmaier, Special Assistant to the President, General Dynamics
John C. Lee IV, Founder, Lee Technologies
Letitia Long, Sole Proprietor, Tish Long LLC
George Newstrom, President, Dell Services Federal Government, Inc.
Neal Orringer, Vice President, Alliances and Partnerships, 3D Systems
Kevin Passarello, Counsel, Buchanan Ingersoll & Rooney, PC
Richard Y. Pineda, CEO, SPEAR
Charles Quillin, Jr., Founding Partner, OpsTech Capital Partners, LLC
Sanjay Raman, Interim President & CEO Virginia Tech Applied Research Corporation, Virginia Tech
Mehul Sanghani, President, Octo Consulting Group, Inc.
Sudhakar Shenoy, Chairman & CEO, Alyx Technologies, Inc.
Sonu Singh, President & CEO, 1901 Group LLC
Art Spivy, COO, Qlinary, Inc.
Todd Stottlemyer, CEO, Inova Center for Personalized Health, Inova
Edward Swallow, Vice President, Vaeros Operations, The Aerospace Corporation
Doug Wagoner, President, SAIC
Mark Weber, Executive in Residence, Catholic University, Weber Strategies, LLC